Maryland Manual On-Line -


Nancy J. King, Co-Chair (chosen by Governor)
Carolyn J. B. Howard, Co-Chair (chosen by Governor)

Appointed by Governor: Kathleen O. Branch; Douglas E. Breisch; John F. Conwell, Esq.; Suellen M. Ferguson, Esq.; Mitsuko R. Herrera; Art Jacoby; Gary S. Lindsey; Morris A. Little; Scott R. Mackey; Michael McLoughlin; Phillip A. Raines; Andrew Reinsdorf; R. Wayne Strausburg; Karen T. Syrylo; James J. Tarlau; Raymond S. Wacks.

Appointed by Senate President: James E. DeGrange, Sr.; Nancy J. King.

Appointed by House Speaker: Talmadge Branch; Carolyn J. B. Howard.

Ex officio: David F. Roose, designee of Comptroller of Maryland; Laura N. Kittel, designee of Director of Assessments & Taxation.

Staff: Andrew M. Schaufele; Linda I. Vasbinder.

c/o Comptroller of Maryland
P. O. Box 466, Goldstein Treasury Building, 80 Calvert St., Annapolis, MD 21404 - 0466
(410) 260-7450

In June 2012, the Communications Tax Reform Commission was authorized (Chapters 261 & 262, Acts of 2012). The Commission was charged with evaluating the tax and fee system on the communications industry, and the feasibility and fiscal implications of modernizing it for State and local government. In its assessment, the Commission considered the sales and use tax; taxes on State and local property, public service company franchises, corporate income, and local communications; and any other relevant communications taxes or fees.

To assist the Commission in its work, the Office of Comptroller and the State Department of Assessments and Taxation collected data from State and local governments, and communications service providers by December 15, 2012.

Twenty-two members made up the Commission. Sixteen were appointed by the Governor, who named the chair. Two each were appointed by the Senate President and House Speaker, and two serve ex officio.

On June 30, 2013, the Commission submitted its final report to the Governor and General Assembly.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2015

July 1, 2015

 Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.

View the current Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright December 04, 2013 Maryland State Archives