Maryland Manual On-Line - www.mdmanual.net

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY & CORRECTIONAL SERVICES

Stephen T. Moyer, Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services (410) 339-5005, (410) 209-4014
[photo, Hampton Plaza, 300 East Joppa Road, Towson, Maryland] William G. Stewart, Deputy Secretary, Administration (410) 339-5050
Wendell M. (Pete) France, Deputy Secretary, Operations (410) 339-5007
David N. Bezanson, Assistant Secretary, Capital Programs (410) 339-5068
Rhea L. Harris, Assistant Secretary & Chief of Staff (410) 339-5091
C. Kevin Combs, Chief Information Officer (410) 585-3100

Wayne A. Webb, Acting Commissioner of Correction (410) 585-3301
David R. Blumberg, Chair, Maryland Parole Commission (410) 585-3200
Judith S. Sachwald, Director of Parole & Probation (410) 585-3566
Randall S. Nero, Ph.D., Director, Patuxent Institution (410) 799-3300
Charles W. Rapp, Executive Director, Police & Correctional Training Commissions (410) 875-3400
Brenda M. Shell, Commissioner of Pretrial Detention & Services (410) 209-2039
Stuart M. Nathan, Principal Counsel (410) 585-3072

Hampton Plaza, 300 East Joppa Road, Towson, Maryland, May 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.



Agencies

Budget

Functions

Historical Evolution

Institutions

Organizational Chart

Organizational Structure

Origin

Reports


ORGANIZATIONAL STRUCTURE

OFFICE OF SECRETARY

(Q00A0101, formerly 35.01.01.01)
FY2015 appropriation: $37,341,409; authorized positions: 204.5
Stephen T. Moyer, Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services (appointed by Governor with Senate advice & consent)
(410) 339-5005, (410) 209-4014
e-mail: smoyer@dpscs.state.md.us
web: www.dpscs.state.md.us/agencies/oos.shtml

OFFICE OF EQUAL EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITY
Karen K. Shipley, Director (410) 585-3005
e-mail: kshipley@dpscs.state.md.us

Paula Green-Holt, Deputy Director (410) 585-3005
e-mail: pholt@dpscs.state.md.us

OFFICE OF GOVERNMENT, LEGISLATIVE & COMMUNITY AFFAIRS
Kevin Loeb, Director (410) 260-6070
e-mail:
kloeb@dpscs.state.md.us

Rachel Sessa, Deputy Director (410) 260-6070
e-mail: rsessa@dpscs.state.md.us

OFFICE OF GRANTS, POLICY, & STATISTICS
Christina N. Lentz, Executive Director (410) 339-5020
e-mail: cnlentz@dpscs.state.md.us
web: www.dpscs.state.md.us/agencies/opprs.shtml

OFFICE OF INSPECTOR GENERAL
Joseph M. Perry, Inspector General (410) 585-3240
Kevin J. Mercer, Deputy Inspector General (410) 585-3242
e-mail: oig@dpscs.state.md.us
web: www.dpscs.state.md.us/agencies/oig.shtml

OFFICE OF LEGAL SERVICES
Stuart M. Nathan, Principal Counsel (410) 585-3072
e-mail:
snathan@dpscs.state.md.us

Lisa O. Arnquist, Deputy Counsel, Personnel & Procurement (410) 585-3071
e-mail: larnquist@dpscs.state.md.us

Michael O. Doyle, Deputy Counsel, Litigation (410) 585-3073
e-mail: mdoyle@dpscs.state.md.us

OFFICE OF VOLUNTEER PROGRAMS
Cynthia J. Weyant, Director (410) 339-5084
e-mail:
cweyant@dpscs.state.md.us

INTELLIGENCE & INVESTIGATIVE DIVISION
(Q00A0103)
FY2015 appropriation: $5,146,381; authorized positions: 50
Mark J. Carter, Director (appointed by Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services) (410) 724-5720
e-mail: mcarter@dpscs.state.md.us
web: www.dpscs.state.md.us/agencies/iiu.shtml

MARYLAND PAROLE COMMISSION
(Q00C0101, formerly 35.03.01.01)
FY2015 appropriation: $5,982,123; authorized positions: 76
(410) 585-3200; 1-877-241-5428 (toll free)
e-mail: dblumberg@dpscs.state.md.us
web: www.dpscs.state.md.us/agencies/mpc.shtml

Appointed by Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services with Governor's approval & Senate advice & consent to 6-year terms:
David R. Blumberg, Chair (chosen by Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services with Governor's approval), 2015
Mattie R. Meehan, 2015; Sheila J. Sullivan, Esq., 2015; Jasper R. Clay, Jr., 2016; Christopher J. Reynolds, Esq., 2017; Perry Sfikas, Esq., 2017; H. Erle Schafer, 2018; Sharon Trexler Begosh, 2019; Rev. Donna M. Hill, 2020; Kevin Kelly, Esq., 2021.

ADMINISTRATION

William G. Stewart, Deputy Secretary for Administration (410) 339-5050
e-mail: wgstewart@dpscs.state.md.us

CAPITAL PROGRAMS

David N. Bezanson, Assistant Secretary for Capital Programs (410) 339-5068
e-mail: dbezanson@dpscs.state.md.us

OPERATIONS

(Q00A02, formerly Q00A0108)
FY2015 appropriation: $74,897,925; authorized positions: 667
Wendell M. (Pete) France, Deputy Secretary for Operations (410) 339-5007
e-mail: wfrance@dpscs.state.md.us

PATUXENT INSTITUTION
(Q00R0206, formerly Q00D00, formerly 35.04.00) (Jessup)
FY2015 appropriation: $51,010,409; authorized positions: 461
Randall S. Nero, Ph.D., Director (appointed by Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services) (410) 799-3300
e-mail: rnero@dpscs.state.md.us
web: www.dpscs.state.md.us/agencies/patuxent.shtml

REGIONAL OPERATIONS - CENTRAL (Baltimore City, Baltimore County)
(formerly Q00B03)
Vacancy, Executive Director (410) 902-3395

Gwendolyn Bullock, Chief of Staff (410) 902-3391

REGIONAL OPERATIONS - NORTH (Allegany, Carroll, Frederick, Garrett, Harford, Howard, Montgomery & Washington counties)
(Q00R0101, formerly Q00B04, Q00B08)
FY2015 appropriation: $3,696,125; authorized positions: 57
Wayne A. Webb, Executive Director (240) 420-1279
e-mail: wwebb@dpscs.state.md.us

REGIONAL OPERATIONS - SOUTH (Anne Arundel, Calvert, Caroline, Charles, Cecil, Dorchester, Kent, Prince George's, Queen Anne's, St. Mary's, Somerset, Talbot, Wicomico & Worcester counties)
(Q00S0101, formerly Q00B02, Q00B07)
FY2015 appropriation: $6,420,931; authorized positions: 92
Vacancy, Executive Director (301) 780-6847

DIVISION OF CORRECTION

(formerly, Q00B00, formerly 35.02.00)
Wayne A. Webb, Acting Commissioner of Correction (appointed by Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services with Governor's approval & Senate advice & consent) (410) 585-3301
e-mail: wwebb@dpscs.state.md.us
web: www.dpscs.state.md.us/agencies/doc.shtml

Carolyn A. Atkins, Acting Deputy Commissioner of Correction (410) 585-3792
e-mail: catkins@dpscs.state.md.us

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance


Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2015

July 1, 2015

 Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.

View the current Manual



This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.


Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!


[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright June 26, 2015 Maryland State Archives