Maryland Manual On-Line -


Albert A. Zachik, M.D., Acting Chair (chosen by Governor)

Appointed by Governor to 3-year terms: Gregory W. Branch, M.D.; Kenneth R. Collins; Lisa H. Covington; Mary F. Cwik, Ph.D.; Arthur Lee Goff; Jervie S. Petty; William T. Powell; Martha W. Pusey. Terms expire 2015.

Appointed by Senate President: one vacancy

Appointed by House Speaker: Susan W. Krebs

Ex officio: Phoenix B. Woody, designee of Secretary of Aging; Lori Markland, designee of Secretary of Disabilities; Albert A. Zachik, M.D., designee of Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene; Shauna Donahue, designee of Deputy Secretary, Behavioral Health & Disabilities; Joan Patterson, designee of Deputy Secretary, Public Health Services; Michael S. Ito, Psy.D., designee of Secretary of Juvenile Services; James K. Holwager, Ed.D., designee of Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services; Dana S. Hendrickson, designee of Secretary of Veterans Affairs; Richard D. Scott, D.Min., designee of State Superintendent of Schools; Arlene F. Lee, Executive Director, Governor's Office for Children.

Staff: Mary Kay Tierney

c/o Behavioral Health Administration
Dix Building, Spring Grove Hospital Center
55 Wade Ave., Catonsville, MD 21228
(410) 402-8452; fax: (410) 402-8311

Two-Year Plan to Governor due June 1, 2015 & biannually thereafter (Executive Order 01.01.2009.13).

In October 2009, the Governor formed the Maryland Commission on Suicide Prevention (Executive Order 01.01.2009.13). The Commission is devising a statewide plan for suicide prevention and intervention, and post-suicide services for individuals and their families. For those who survive or attempt suicide and their families, the Commission will compile a list of support systems.

The Commission promotes a coordinated, collaborative and comprehensive effort by State and local agencies to ensure the best use of resources for the delivery of a continuum of services to prevent, intervene in, or recover from suicide. In addition, the Commission is to identify and review the impact of suicide on the health and well-being of Maryland citizens; the economic and social costs of suicide; and effective and efficient practices in the organization and delivery of services to those affected by suicide.

In September 2012, the Commission submitted to the Governor its initial two-year plan for suicide prevention.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2015

July 1, 2015

 Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.

View the current Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright June 30, 2015 Maryland State Archives