Maryland Manual On-Line -


Appointed by Governor to 4-year terms:
J. Joseph Curran, Jr., Chair (chosen by Governor), 2017
Michael Brady, 2014; Maureen L. Rowland, Esq., 2014; Katherine Moxley Smeltzer, Esq., 2014; Catherine L. Meyers, 2016; Arleathia West, 2016; Annette L. Hanson, M.D., 2017; one vacancy.

Representing Dept. of Public Safety & Correctional Services: Judith S. Sachwald

Ex officio: Sam J. Abed, Secretary of Juvenile Services; Van T. Mitchell, Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene; Stephen T. Moyer, Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services; Col. William M. Pallozzi, Secretary of State Police; Christopher B. Shank, Executive Director, Governor's Office of Crime Control & Prevention; David R. Blumberg, Chair, Maryland Parole Commission; Albert A. Zachik, M.D., Acting Executive Director, Behavioral Health Administration; Carole J. Shelton, Director, Criminal Justice Information System Central Repository.

Staff: Elizabeth Bartholomew

c/o Dept. of Public Safety & Correctional Services
Building G, 1201 Reisterstown Road, Pikesville, MD 21208
(410) 585-3604

Annual Report to Governor & General Assembly due Dec. 31.

Report to General Assembly on recommendations to protect residents & employees of nursing homes & assisted living facilities from sexual offenders due Dec. 1, 2011 (Chapter 608, Acts of 2010).

The Sexual Offender Advisory Board was established within the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services in June 2006 and restructured as a unit seperate from the Department in June 2010 (Chapter 4, Acts of 2006 Special Session; Chapters 178 & 179, Acts of 2010). The Board reviews Maryland's laws and those of other states and jurisdictions that concern sexual offenders, as well as the practices and procedures for supervising and monitoring sexual offenders which currently are used by the Maryland Parole Commission and the Division of Parole and Probation. The Board also evaluates technology that tracks offenders; reviews developments in assessing and treating sexual offenders; formulates standards for such treatment based on current and evolving best practices; and certifies treatment programs that comply with the standards.

With the Division of Parole and Probation, the Board is to develop criteria to measure an individual's risk for re-offending. Also, the Board considers how to increase interstate cooperation in registering and monitoring sexual offenders. Finally, the Board makes recommendations for training sexual offender management teams within the Department.

Of the Board's seventeen members, the Governor appoints eight to four-year terms. Nine serve ex officio (Code Public Safety Article, sec. 1-401).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2015

July 1, 2015

 Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.

View the current Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 01, 2015 Maryland State Archives