Maryland Manual On-Line -


Gwendolyn T. Britt, Co-Chair (chosen jointly by Senate President & House Speaker)
Nancy J. King, Co-Chair (chosen jointly by Senate President & House Speaker)

Appointed by Governor: Donald T. Bridges; Michael G. Caruso, Ph.D.; Christopher F. Drummond, Esq.; Robert A. Ginter; Kathleen M. Lyon; Jillian Shpuntoff; Corrine Ung.

Appointed by Senate President: Gwendolyn T. Britt

Appointed by House Speaker: one vacancy

Appointed by State Superintendent of Schools: Lorraine Anders; Jane Brandt; Patricia Cook-Ferguson; Cynthia Shulmeyer; Elizabeth Weller.

Appointed by Maryland Association of Boards of Education: John A. Hayden III; Patricia B. O'Neill.

Ex officio: Marlene Trestman, designee of Attorney General; Ann E. Chafin, designee of State Superintendent of Schools; Maj. Walter F. Landon, designee of Secretary of State Police.

Staff: Kelly Coston, Dominic M. Romano

c/o Division of Student, Family & School Support, State Dept. of Education
Nancy S. Grasmick State Education Building, 200 West Baltimore St., Baltimore, MD 21201
(410) 767-0301, (410) 767-4420

In October 2006, the Task Force on School Safety was appointed (Chapter 426, Acts of 2006).

Methods to address student violence in public schools, and provide a safe learning environment for students were considered by the Task Force. The impact of students who exhibit chronic, escalating patterns of misbehavior was evaluated by the Task Force as was the use of suspension and expulsion to control behavior. The safety of students traveling to and from school also was gauged. Video surveillance cameras, metal detectors, and other security devices to monitor safety were considered.

The Task Force recommended ways to ensure that school and public safety officials respond effectively to crises involving student violence, accidental injury and loss, natural disasters, or exposure to hazardous substances. In addition, the use of emergency management and law enforcement officers to train and provide technical assistance to county school personnel was examined as it relates to crisis response team development; crisis management planning; safe schools planning; site surveys and safety audits; emergency operations planning; search and seizure; and model school safety plans.

On December 1, 2007, the Task Force reported to the Governor, the Senate Education, Health and Environmental Affairs Committee, and the House Ways and Means Committee. Authorization for the Task Force ended December 31, 2007.

Defunct Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2015

July 1, 2015

 Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.

View the current Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright February 19, 2013 Maryland State Archives