Maryland Manual On-Line -


Michael A. Parker, Chair (chosen by Governor)

Appointed by Executive Director, Governor's Workforce Investment Board: Mary L. O'Connor

Appointed by Executive Director, Cecil County Office of Economic Development: Vernon J. Thompson

Appointed by Executive Director, Harford County Office of Economic Development: James F. LaCalle, Ed.D.

Representing Army Alliance: Bernard J. Michel

Representing Chesapeake Science & Security Corridor: Karen L. Holt

Representing Northeastern Maryland Technology Council: Michael A. Parker

Representing Susquehanna Workforce Network: Bruce A. England

Ex officio: Danette Gerald Howard, Ph.D., Interim Secretary of Higher Education; Patrick J. Hogan, designee of Chancellor, University System of Maryland; David Wilson, Ed.D., President, Morgan State University; W. Stephen Pannill, Ed.D., President, Cecil College; Dennis Golladay, Ph.D., President, Harford Community College; Marlene Lieb, designee of Executive Director, Higher Education & Conference Center at the Higher Education & Applied Technology Center; D'Ette W. Devine, Ed.D., Superintendent of Schools, Cecil County; Robert M. Tomback, Ph.D., Superintendent of Schools, Harford County; Jody L. Kallis, designee of Executive Director, Maryland Association of Community Colleges; Tina M. Bjarekull, President, Maryland Independent College & University Association; Gary P. Martin, designee of Commanding General, Aberdeen Proving Ground.

Staff: Asuntha M. Chiang-Smith

c/o Office of Lt. Governor
301 West Preston St., Suite 700, Baltimore, MD 21201
(410) 767-8796; fax: (410) 974-2055

In June 2011, the Task Force to Study the Creation of a Regional Higher Education Center in Northeastern Maryland was established and began to meet monthly (Chapter 614, Acts of 2011). Since a number of studies had found the northeastern region of Maryland to be the fastest growing region of the State, the Task Force was charged with studying and making recommendations concerning the higher education needs of the northeast Maryland region.

Three working groups fulfilled the Task Force's charge. The Facilities Working Group evaluated existing and planned higher education facilities in the region to determine whether they were adequate for future needs. For a potential Northeastern Maryland Regional Higher Education Center, the Governance Working Group considered a number of models. The Programs Working Group determined what degree programs at the bachelor, masters and doctoral level will be needed in the region.

The Task Force submitted its report to the Governor, the Senate Budget and Taxation Committee, the House Appropriations Committee, and the Joint Committee on Base Realignment and Closure in December 2011.

Authorization for the Task Force ended June 30, 2012.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2015

July 1, 2015

 Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.

View the current Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright February 19, 2013 Maryland State Archives