Maryland Manual On-Line -


Douglas J. J. Peters, Chair (chosen by Governor)

Appointed by Governor: Clifford J. Boan, Esq.; Gerard F. Devlin; Thomas V. Kimball, Jr.

[photo, Jeffrey Building (now Wineland Building), State House in background, Annapolis, Maryland] Appointed by Senate President: Douglas J. J. Peters

Appointed by House Speaker: Keiffer J. Mitchell, Jr.; Michael D. Smigiel, Sr.; Geraldine Valentino-Smith.

Appointed by Chief Judge, Court of Appeals: Neil E. Axel; Nancy L. Davis-Loomis.

Jeffrey Building (now Wineland Building), Annapolis, Maryland, September 2001. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Ex officio: Peter Killough, designee of Attorney General; Darren J. McGregor, designee of Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene; Gregg L. Hershberger, Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services; Edward Chow, Jr., Secretary of Veterans Affairs; Gray Barton, Executive Director, Office of Problem-Solving Courts.

Staff: Gerard (Jerry) Boden; Gray Barton.

c/o Department of Veterans Affairs
Fred L. Wineland Building, 4th floor, 16 Francis St., Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 260-3841; 1-866-793-1577 (toll free); fax: (410) 216-7928

On October 1, 2012. the Task Force on Military Service Members, Veterans, and the Courts was authorized (Chapter 161, Acts of 2012). The Task Force studied mental health and substance abuse problems of veterans and active-duty military personnel that affect civil, family and criminal court cases. Further, the Task Force considered what options courts have in addressing cases concerning violence, drug use and addiction, mental health conditions, and crimes committed by military veterans and active-duty personnel. Finally, the Task Force made recommendations on whether to establish a special court to hear cases concerning military veterans and active-duty personnel who suffer from mental illness, post-traumatic stress syndrome, alcohol and drug abuse, or problems readjusting to civilian life.

On December 1, 2013, the Task Force submitted its report to the Governor, the General Assembly, and the Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals.

Authorization for the Task Force ended June 30, 2014.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2015

July 1, 2015

 Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.

View the current Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright June 30, 2014 Maryland State Archives