Maryland Manual On-Line -


Chair (chosen by Governor): Lewis R. Riley, Secretary of Agriculture

Appointed by Governor: Donald D. Amberman; E. Lorenzo Di Casagrande; William L. Hostetter; Paul R. Kelly; John C. Magness; Donovan R. Murray.

Appointed by Senate President: Thomas M. Middleton; Edward J. (E. J.) Pipkin.

Appointed by House Speaker: Paul S. Stull; one vacancy.

Representing Maryland Farm Bureau: Stephen L. Weber

Representing Maryland Grain Producers Association: Charles T. Jamison

Representing MidAtlantic Farm Credit: Kenneth M. Bounds

Ex officio: James L. Gring, designee of Secretary of Business and Economic Development; Samuel F. Minnitte, Jr., designee of Secretary of Transportation; Louis J. LoBianco, designee of Executive Director, Maryland Port Administration.

Staff: S. Patrick McMillan

c/o Dept. of Agriculture
Wayne A. Cawley, Jr. Building, 50 Harry S Truman Parkway, Annapolis, MD 21401 - 8960
(410) 841-5786; fax: (410) 841-5999

The Task Force on the Marketing of Grain and Other Agricultural Products was created in June 2003 (Chapter 85, Acts of 2003). The Task Force evaluated options and developed strategies for marketing grain, particularly soybeans, and other Maryland agricultural products, and studied the feasibility of reestablishing a grain export facility at the Port of Baltimore. With the Maryland Port Administration, the Task Force studied the long-and short-term economic viability of such a facility, including the Locust Point Marine Terminal. Also, the Task Force considered new transport options for agricultural products from alternative locations in central Maryland. Finally, the Task Force weighed the cost of each option or strategy, and examined potential funding sources, including federal grant and loan programs, private loans, and other available funding mechanisms.

On December 31, 2003, the Task Force reported to the Governor and General Assembly.

Authorization for the Task Force ended January 31, 2004.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2015

July 1, 2015

 Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.

View the current Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright February 19, 2013 Maryland State Archives