Maryland Manual On-Line -


Kirsten H. Johnson, Chair (chosen by Governor)

Appointed by Governor: Anne Frances, Ph.D.; Jil M. Swearingen; Sara A. Tangren, Ph.D.

Appointed by Senate President: Karen S. Montgomery

Appointed by House Speaker: A. Shane Robinson

 [photo, Joe-Pye Weed at Hancock's Resolution, 2795 Bayside Beach Road, Pasadena, Maryland] Ex officio: Robert B. Trumbule, designee of Secretary of Agriculture; Denise Clearwater, designee of Secretary of the Environment; Wesley M. Knapp, designee of Secretary of Natural Resources; Kevin Wilsey, designee of Secretary of Transportation; Christopher T. Frye, State Botanist; vacancy, State Soil Scientist.

Joe-Pye Weed at Hancock's Resolution, 2795 Bayside Beach Road, Pasadena, Maryland, July 2004. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

Staff: Gwenda L. Brewer, Ph.D.

c/o Wildlife & Heritage Service, Department of Natural Resources
Tawes State Office Building, E-1, 580 Taylor Ave., Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 260-8558

In June 2013, the Maryland Botanical Heritage Work Group was created (Chapter 655, Acts of 2013).

The Work Group worked to identify obstacles to the preservation of Maryland's native plant species, such as biological invasions not prevented or controlled; fragmentation or destruction of habitat; and lack of data on loss of species. To improve the preservation of native plant species, the Work Group considered using new innovations in biology, information systems, social networks, technology, marketing, education, and resilient systems theory. Further, the Work Group explored providing extension-style support to citizens working to preserve native plant species, and examined botanical conservation programs that work in other jurisdictions. Finally, the Work Group recommended how best to proceed in the preservation of native plant species, that is to set goals, collect data, address regulatory issues, promote profitable native plant and seed markets in Maryland, and find revenue sources.

On January 15, 2014, the Work Group submitted its report to the Governor and the General Assembly.

Authorization for the Work Group ended May 31, 2014.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2015

July 1, 2015

 Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.

View the current Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright June 02, 2014 Maryland State Archives