Maryland Manual On-Line -


Katherine A. Klausmeier, Co-Chair (chosen by Chairs, Baltimore County Senate & House Delegations)
Stephen W. Lafferty, Co-Chair (chosen by Chairs, Baltimore County Senate & House Delegations)

Appointed by Chair, Baltimore County Senate Delegation: J. B. Jennings; Delores G. Kelley; Robert A. Zirkin.

Appointed by Chair, Baltimore County House Delegation: Emmet C. Burns, Jr.; A. Wade Kach; Dana M. Stein.

Appointed by Baltimore County Executive: Dunbar Brooks; James W. Campbell; James T. Smith, Jr.

Appointed by Chair, Baltimore County Council: John A. Olszewski, Sr.

Appointed by Maryland Association of Boards of Education: John R. Woolums, Esq.

Ex officio: Katherine A. Klausmeier, Chair, Baltimore County Senate Delegation; John A. Olszewski, Jr., Chair, Baltimore County House Delegation.

[photo, Old Courthouse, 400 Washington St., Towson, Maryland] Staff: Ethan B. Hunt

c/o Office of Baltimore County Executive
Old Courthouse, mezzanine, 400 Washington Ave., Towson, MD 21204
(410) 887-8447

  • Report, November 2011

    Old Courthouse, 400 Washington St., Towson, Maryland, March 2001. Photo by Diane F. Evartt.

    In July 2011, the Task Force on the Membership and Operation of the Baltimore County Board of Education was established (Chapters 459 & 460, Acts of 2011). The Task Force was to make recommendations on how many members should constitute the Baltimore County Board of Education. Further, the Task Force considered at least six ways to select Board members, including: election; appointment by the Governor; appointment by the County Executive; partial election and appointment; selection by County nominating commission; or appointments with additional approval. Should the Task Force recommend a change in the selection process, then recommendations concerning an appropriate phase-in process also were to be made. Finally, the Task Force was to recommend how to improve the transparency and professionalism of the Baltimore County Board of Education.

    On November 10, 2011, the Task Force submitted its report to the Governor, the Baltimore County Senate and House Delegations, the State Superintendent of Schools, the Baltimore County Executive, the Baltimore County Council, the Baltimore County Superintendent of Schools, and the Baltimore County Board of Education.

    Authorization for the Task Force ended December 31, 2011.

    Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
    Maryland Departments
    Maryland Independent Agencies
    Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
    Maryland Universities & Colleges
    Maryland Counties
    Maryland Municipalities
    Maryland at a Glance

    Maryland Manual On-Line

    Search the Manual

     Maryland Manual On-Line, 2015

    July 1, 2015

     Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.

    View the current Manual

    This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

    Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

    [ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
    ||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

    Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

    Copyright February 19, 2013 Maryland State Archives