Maryland Manual On-Line -


Paula C. Hollinger, Co-Chair (chosen by Governor)
Dan K. Morhaim, Co-Chair (chosen by Governor)

Appointed by Governor: Pamela J. Blackwell; Vicki L. Bodison, Ph.D.; Harold C. Cohen, Ph.D.; Kathryn T. Coleman; Jaswinder K. Ghuman, M.D.; Linda S. Grossman, M.D.; Larry L. Lorton, Ph.D.; Ladys C. Lux; Leslie S. Margolis, Esq.; Patricia H. Michel; B. Pauline Prince, Ph..D.; Mark A. Riddle, M.D.; Sidney B. Seidman, M.D.; Jane R. Snider, Ed.D.; Kenneth Tellerman, M.D.; Eileen C. Wagner; Charles R. Wainwright; Gwendolyn Willis-Darpoh, Ph.D.

Appointed by Senate President: Paula C. Hollinger

Appointed by House Speaker: Dan K. Morhaim

Appointed by State Board of Physician Quality Assurance: Susan T. Strahan, M.D.

Appointed by State Board of Examiners of Psychologists: Milton Shore, Ph.D.

Ex officio: Nelson J. Sabatini, Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene; Nancy S. Grasmick, Ph.D., State Superintendent of Schools; M. Teresa Garland, Esq., Special Secretary for Children, Youth, & Families.

Contact: Donna M. Behrens, R.N.

c/o Office for Children, Youth, & Families
301 West Preston St., Suite 1502, Baltimore, MD 21201
(410) 767-4269; fax: (410) 333-5248

The Advisory Council on Attention-Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder was created in July 2000 (Chapter 84, Acts of 2000). The Council reviewed current literature and research on the disorder, and conducted surveys to determine its prevalence and related treatments and policies. Guidelines for the optimal diagnosis and treatment of the disorder were designed and implemented by all local school systems with Council assistance. It investigated the relation between attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder and learning disabilities and differences, and developed and distributed educational programs and materials for parents, educators, child care providers, and physicians.

The Council was to assist the Governor and State agencies in implementing recommendations of the Task Force to Study Uses of Methylphenidate and Other Drugs on School Children. Those recommendations, contained in the Task Force report of March 1999, called for communication between physicians, educators, and parents; training for primary care providers, families, educators, and school health personnel; support for families, and for research and evaluation; and investigation of third-party reimbursement issues on diagnosis and treatment of attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder. Within each school system, the Task Force also recommended the presence of a mental health expert knowledgeable about the disorder, and smaller class sizes for children with the disorder.

Authorization for the Council expired July 1, 2003. The Council submitted its final report to the Governor and General Assembly in July 2003.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2015

July 1, 2015

 Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.

View the current Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright February 19, 2013 Maryland State Archives