Maryland Manual On-Line -


Chair (chosen by Governor): Lillian M. Lowery, Ed.D., State Superintendent of Schools

Appointed by Governor to 3-year terms: Valerie S. Carr; Lorig Charkoudian, Ph.D.; Theresa E. Detorie; Elizabeth Watson Ray. Terms expire 2016.

Appointed by State Superintendent of Schools: Margaret Grady Kidder, Ph.D.

Appointed by Maryland Association of Boards of Education: Michael A. Durso

Appointed by Public School Superintendents' Association of Maryland: Henry V. Wagner, Jr., Ed.D.

Ex officio: Kisha A. Brown, designee of Attorney General; Anne P. Blackfield, Esq., designee of Secretary of Disabilities; Lt. Col. Woodrow W. Jones, designee of Secretary of State Police.

Edward A. Clarke, Executive Director
Maryland Coordination & Analysis Center, Suite 130
7125 Ambassador Road, Baltimore, MD 21244
(301) 370-3497

Staff: Robert A. Murphy
c/o Division of Student, Family & School Support, State Dept. of Education
Nancy S. Grasmick State Education Building, 200 West Baltimore St., Baltimore, MD 21201 - 2595
(410) 767-0305

The Maryland Center for School Safety was established as an independent unit of State government in July 2013 (Chapter 372, Acts of 2013).

To provide a coordinated and comprehensive policy for school safety in Maryland, the Center collaborates with local school systems, law enforcement agencies, State and local government, community organizations, parents, and other groups. With those partners, the Center disseminates information on best practices, programs, and resources; provides technical assistance and training; collects, analyzes, and integrates Statewide data; and promotes interagency efforts to ensure safe schools.

The Center's Executive Director is appointed by the Governing Board (Code Education Article, secs. 7-1501 through 7-1505).

The Governing Board for the Maryland Center for School Safety consists of eleven members. Four are appointed by the Governor who deisgnates the chair. The State Superintendent of Schools, the Maryland Association of Boards of Education, and the Public School Superintendents' Association of Maryland each appoint one member; and four members serve ex officio (Code Education Article, secs. 7-1501 through 7-1505).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2015

July 1, 2015

 Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.

View the current Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright February 03, 2015 Maryland State Archives