Maryland Manual On-Line -


Paul W. Davies, M.D., Chair (chosen by Governor), 2017

Appointed by Governor to 4-year terms: Shawn P. McNamara, Ed.D.; Deborah R. Miran; Cristina Clara Paul; Harry (Buddy) Robshaw III. Terms expire 2015.

Dario J. Broccolino, J.D.; Michael A. Horberg, M.D.; Robert A. Lavin, M.D.; Nancy Rosen-Cohen, Ph.D.; Jon Traunfeld. Terms expire 2016.

William C. Charles, Pharm.D.; Kevin W. Chen, Ph.D.; John T. Gontrum; Eric E. Sterling, Esq. Terms expire 2017.

one vacancy

Ex officio: Allison W. Taylor, designee of Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene

Hannah L. Byron, Executive Director (410) 764-4663

Metro Executive Building, 4201 Patterson Ave., Baltimore, MD 21215
(410) 764-4793

Annual Report to Governor & General Assembly on physicians certified & approved medical cannabis programs due Jan. 1 (Chapters 240 & 256, Acts of 2014; Code Health-General Article, sec. 13-3305).

Report to General Assembly on level of competition in the market for medical marijuana, including consequences of oversupply & excessive demand due Dec. 1, 2015 (Chapters 240 & 256, Acts of 2014).

In October 2013, the Natalie M. LaPrade Medical Marijuana Commission was authorized (Chapter 403, Acts of 2013). It was expanded in June 2014 (Chapters 240 & 256, Acts of 2014) and renamed the Natalie M. LaPrade Medical Cannabis Commission in May 2015 (Chapter 251, Acts of 2015).

The Commission is developing policies, procedures, guidelines, and regulations to implement and administer a program for the compassionate medical use of cannabis (marijuana) in Maryland.

Initially, the Commission was to request proposals from academic medical centers to operate medical cannabis compassionate use programs. In 2014, however, its charge was expanded to make medical cannabis available beyond those patients participating in a research study at an academic medical center.

Medical Cannabis Program. The Commission is implementing the Medical Cannabis Program in Maryland, which provides for the approval, licensing, and registration of academic medical centers, growers, dispensaries, grower agents, and dispenser agents. To provide qualifying patients legally with medical cannabis, the Program establishes a structure by which to certify physicians and qualify patients.

The Program is expected to be operational by 2016 with medical cannabis available for patients in 2017. Qualifying patients who have received written certification from their certifying physician then will be able to obtain medical cannabis. Only those growers or dispensaries licensed by the Commission will be authorized to sell cannabis to qualifying patients.

The Natalie M. LaPrade Medical Cannabis Commission Fund is administered by the Commission (Code Health-General Article, sec. 13-3303(h)(1)).

Sixteen members constitute the Commission. Fifteen are appointed to four-year terms by the Governor, and one serves ex officio (Code Health-General Article, sec. 13-3302 through 13-3316).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2015

July 1, 2015

 Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.

View the current Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright May 15, 2015 Maryland State Archives