Maryland Manual On-Line -



[photo, Peter K. Rahn, Maryland Secretary of Transportation] PETE K. RAHN, Secretary of Transportation

Secretary of Transportation since March 13, 2015. Acting Secretary of Transportation, January 21 to March 13, 2015.

Member, Governor's Executive Council, 2015-; Governor's Subcabinet for International Affairs, 2015-; Maryland Subcabinet for Public-Private Partnerships, 2015-; Smart Growth Subcabinet, 2015-. Chair, Maryland Aviation Commission, 2015-; Maryland Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Council, 2015-; Maryland Port Commission, 2015-; Maryland Transportation Authority, 2015-; Executive Committee, Transportation Enhancements Program, 2015-. Co-Chair, Executive Committee for Dredged Material Management Plans, 2015-. Member, Interagency Committee on Aging Services, 2015-; Asbestos Oversight Committee, 2015-; Baltimore Regional Transportation Board, 2015-; Capital Debt Affordability Committee, 2015-; Climate, Energy and Environment Policy Committee, 2015-, Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments; Climate Change Commission, 2015-; Coast Smart Council, 2015-; Critical Area Commission for the Chesapeake and Atlantic Coastal Bays, 2015-; Commission on State Debt, 2015-; Interagency Disabilities Board, 2015-; Maryland State Drug and Alcohol Abuse Council, 2015-; Maryland Economic Development Assistance Authority, 2015-; Maryland Economic Development Corporation, 2015-; Commission on Environmental Justice and Sustainable Communities, 2015-; Maryland Green Building Council, 2015-; Maryland Green Purchasing Committee, 2015-; Maryland Heritage Areas Authority, 2015-; Maryland Advisory Council on Historic Preservation, 2015-; Interagency Council on Homelessness, 2015-; State Coordinating Committee for Human Services Transportation, 2015-; Statewide Interoperability Executive Committee, 2015-; Statewide Interoperability Radio Control Board, 2015-; Invasive Plants Advisory Committee, 2015-; Maryland Integrated Map Executive Committee, 2015-; Maryland Military Installation Council, 2015-; Interdepartmental Advisory Committee for Minority Affairs, 2015-; Council on Open Data, 2015-; Patuxent River Commission, 2015-; Procurement Advisory Council, 2015-. Board of Visitors, R. Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center, University of Maryland Medical System, 2015-. Member, Task Force to Study Small and Minority Design Firm Participation in State Procurement, 2015-; Interagency Committee on Specialized Transportation, 2015-; State Center Executive Committee, 2015-; Maryland Sustainable Growth Commission, 2015-; Transportation Professional Services Selection Board, 2015-; Maryland War of 1812 Bicentennial Commission, 2015-; Washington Suburban Transit Commission, 2015-.

Treasurer, San Juan County, New Mexico, 1981-85. Chair, Planning and Zoning Commission, Farmington, New Mexico, 1989-95.

Secretary of State Highway and Transportation Department, New Mexico, 1995-2002. Director, Department of Transportation, Missouri, 2004-10. Chair, State Transportation Commission, New Mexico, 2011-15.

New Mexico State University, B.A. (government), 1976, B.S. (planning), 1977. Territory Manager, Burroughs Corp., B.F.D., 1977-79. Manager, Better Business Bureau/Four Corners, Farmington, New Mexico, 1979-81. Chair, Board of Directors, Better Business Bureau/Four Corners, 1983-84, 1992-93. Executive Director, San Juan College Foundation, 1985-89. Corporate Vice-President, Kysar Insurance Agency, 1989-95. Vice-President of Governmental Relations, Contech Construction Products, Inc., 2002-04. Senior Vice-President, HNTB Corp., 2010-15. President, New Mexico Association of Counties, 1984-85. President, New Mexico State University Support Council, 1992-94. President, Western Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, 1999-2000. Co-Chair, National Partnership for Highway Quality, 2001-02. Member, Executive Committee, Transportation Research Board, 2006-10 (task force on accelerating innovation in highway industry, 1999-2009). President, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, 2007-08 (past member, board of directors; chair, standing committee on performance management, 2006-10). Board of Directors, The Road Information Project, 2012-. Paul Harris Fellow, Rotary International Foundation, 1998. Public Official of the Year, New Mexico Chapter, American Public Works Association, 2000. Vision Award, National Council on Public Private Partnerships, 2008. Public Official of the Year, Governing, 2009. Lester P. Lamm Memorial Award, The Washington Road Gang, 2010. Community Improvement Award, Missouri Growth Association, 2010. Transportation Leadership Award, Design-Build Institute of America, 2010. Married; two children.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Universities & Colleges
Maryland Counties
Maryland Municipalities
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2015

July 1, 2015

 Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.

View the current Manual

This information resource of the Maryland State Archives is presented here for fair use in the public domain. When this material is used, in whole or in part, proper citation and credit must be attributed to the Maryland State Archives. PLEASE NOTE: Rights assessment for associated source material is the responsibility of the user.

Tell Us What You Think About the Maryland State Archives Website!

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright June 04, 2015 Maryland State Archives